Life is beautiful

November 28, 2012 — 112 Comments

Gold Coast, QLD – Ulladulla, NSW
2 young boys, 1 gal and one hell of an adventure.

You know how an hour ago I was fearing homelessness in my post HERE?
Well wouldn’t you know, everything has worked out perfectly. I have decided to forget trying to find a house and hit the road.
I am putting everything I own into storage and on Monday my two boys and I are getting into our car, winding the windows down, putting some dark sunglasses on, turning the volume up on some rock and roll and beginning a adventure down the coastline of Australia.
We are just going to drive and drive and make it all up as we go, stopping off to visit family, exploring beaches, discovering local eateries and making incredible memories until we finally arrive in a little coastal town called Ulladulla in New South Wales.

Ulladulla is post-card beautiful and home to many of my greek relatives namely my Aunt Donna with whom I am very close to and has a beautiful home overlooking the ocean which she has invited us to share with her.
So instead of setting up house with my boys in a cardboard box next to the burning tire pile on the wrong side of the tracks and spending my days fixing the holes in our fingerless gloves while the kids drink milk out of bottles in brown paper bags, we will be setting off on an Australian adventure for nearly 3 months.

Isn’t life beautiful?

112 responses to Life is beautiful

  1. 

    This actually sounds like a great adventure and I’m jealous. I wish I could pack up and go. You may have just inspired a family road trip next year, at the very least.

    Good luck on your adventure and stay safe!

  2. 
    Melody J Haislip November 29, 2012 at 4:30 AM

    Looks like when life hands you lemons, you head for Ulladulla! That would make a great bumper sticker, don’t you think? Step out in faith and enjoy!!!

  3. 

    I can relate to you. We are blessed in the United States beyond measure with resources to help those of us in need. One can only control their state of mind or what they think. I recall reading somewhere that happiness has little to do with circumstance. I recall this story coming from a war refugee. I pray you have courage. Although Australia may have been found by what society has deemed as criminals; itt seems the country is doing quite well. Work on your accent as you sound funny and I will work on not laughing at my own jokes.

  4. 

    This sounds wonderful. Your boys will remember this adventure always. Safe travels:)

  5. 

    Hi Vanessa, only realised you are in Australia. Was there a year ago – spent some time on the Gold Coast – yes Life is beautiful. Have you ever checked out Byron Bay?
    Best Wishes

  6. 

    Wow! Thanks for sharing such a fantastic development in your adventure! Praise God for your Aunt Donna, and blessings on you and your boys as you travel. I’m sure there will be many things to write about!

  7. 

    This is brilliant news! Thanks for the reminder of what we get when we stop asking “why?” and start asking “why not?” – solutions.

  8. 

    wow, that sounds like such an awesome and beautiful adventure…and possibly a movie maybe in the works 🙂

    ivonne

  9. 

    Lucky family’s luck changed! I took my boys, then 11 and 7 on a 5- week, 5,000 mile road trip one summer. We visited friends and relatives on our way and camped in between. Destination was a cabin on a lake in Ontario for a week then traveling back. A great adventure!

    Four years later we had the fortune to fly to Sydney (with their dad this time), tour the city for 3 days, then rent an RV and start up the coast for about one week. Absolutely love those memories. Our countries are so beautiful!

  10. 

    Awesome! But instead of going to see your fabulous Greek aunt (whom I am sure is awesome) you should come to Greece! 🙂

  11. 

    Just returned last week from Sydney. My 6th trip- love it! Helps to have family there.
    Met a fellow blogger, maybe next time I can meet you!
    You can never go wrong with traveling and kids, only have experiences that you will either laugh at now or later.

  12. 

    Good luck brave soul!! How old are the boys? I’m also on my own with twins so I know the courage it takes to hit the road.

  13. 

    With an Introduction to your Blog such as THIS ONE, how can I not want to learn more?!?!?

    From what I can gather thus far, you are a Loving Mother and Courageous to boot 😉 With a very good head on her shoulders…

    Thank you for letting me find you!

  14. 

    It is indeed beautiful–the thing is in training the eyes to see it.

  15. 

    Glad things have worked out! Good luck!! Xx

  16. 

    My goodness blogger you and some other guys here talking about 2 kids and adventure. My son is just 2 years old and I have missed traveling after his birth. Jealous of you guys. Don’t know when I will start again. looks good for you though.

  17. 

    Hello lovely onethousandsingledays.
    http://headinmyhands.com/ is a new domain. I hope you follow us soon.

  18. 

    It’s great to read that you have made a decision to turn a difficult situation into a positive one! God will always find a way for you in His perfect timing. I’ll be praying for you! Thank you for following, I’ve started following you now too. Have a blessed day ❤

  19. 

    It is always better to be brave than to be afraid. My heart is singing beautiful songs for you.

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. Her children will have a home for christmas. « - December 2, 2012

    […] My son, his friend (lets call him Jessie) and I were walking back from a long swim at the pool. Jessie had been playing at our house and the swim had come after many hours of sitting in my sweltering garage on the first day of our Australian summer trying to sell the last of our belongings in a garage sale before my boys and I set off on our exciting and much needed Australian road trip […]

  2. A mother in need | theworminmyapple - December 2, 2012

    […] My son, his friend (lets call him Jessie) and I were walking back from a long swim at the pool. Jessie had been playing at our house and the swim had come after many hours of sitting in my sweltering garage on the first day of our Australian summer trying to sell the last of our belongings in a garage sale before my boys and I set off on our exciting and much needed Australian road trip […]

  3. Please Read | The Baking Barrister - December 4, 2012

    […] My son, his friend (lets call him Jessie) and I were walking back from a long swim at the pool. Jessie had been playing at our house and the swim had come after many hours of sitting in my sweltering garage on the first day of our Australian summer trying to sell the last of our belongings in a garage sale before my boys and I set off on our exciting and much needed Australian road trip […]

I would love to hear from you, please feel free to comment!

