Dear God, please don’t let me be homeless, Love Vanessa

November 28, 2012 — 54 Comments

I thought I would touch base as I haven’t posted in a long while now and have also got emails and comments going un-replied and I hate ignoring the site but I wouldn’t do so for no good reason…. I am moving house!
This little lady all on her own has taken on the task of moving herself, two boys and everything she owns to somewhere new. It’s easier said than done I can tell you that much.
I have also pulled a typical Vanessa move and decided that I will not be getting a handy man in to do all the scheduled maintenance and repair jobs, but rather, I will do it myself thank you very much. So I am sunburnt and very exhausted at the moment from spending the last several days in the sun working away at jobs designed for strong, male hands, lifting things too heavy for my skinny, quivering little arms and learning how to fix the lights one electric shock at a time.
The interesting detail about this whole move business is that I don’t actually have a place to move into yet…..
My lease is up on the 4th of December (yes, this year…. yes, less than 6 days away) and I have to be out by then.
The thing is, it seems to be a lot harder to find a home in a safe, affordable area than I remember…

I have found a few good potentials, and then hurriedly binned my application when I saw the neighbours. One sitting on the front porch smoking a filterless cigarette and wolf whistling at the children and the other? A woman carrying what seemed to be the worlds obesity epidemic in its entirety on her shoulders while she screamed in the house ‘Honey Boo Boo you git yer butt down here we got to go get us some more of them leaflet bundles so we can get snippin them coupons so we can save MONAAAAAAAAAAAAY’

Sure the rent was reasonable… but you know…

So that’s the dilemma. Moving in a matter of days with currently no forwarding address. But you know what? I’m not worried because it’s going to work out just fine, I know it. And if it doesn’t, well I will just tell the kids that we are going to go camping for like, a really, really long time.

So thats the news. If anyone owns a home on the Gold Coast and wants to just, oh I don’t know, GIVE IT TO ME, then please feel free to contact me. Otherwise you all enjoy your week and pray that the next post I put up isn’t while stealing the wireless internet from the Macdonald’s while I sit it a cardboard box, warming my hands on the burning tire pile and hissing at the stray cats. πŸ™‚

Love you all

UPDATE: An hour after posting this: This happened….Life is beautiful

54 responses to Dear God, please don’t let me be homeless, Love Vanessa

  1. 

    Hope you enjoy your new digs…
    xx
    Sooz

  2. 

    May the force be with you.

  3. 

    Your attitude will get you where you want to be. Best of luck and thank you for writing again.

  4. 

    I saw you sitting on that box, hissing. I laughed. All the best Vanessa, you’ll get what you need at the right time.
    Cheers
    Laurie

  5. 

    love your sense of humor dear. i think god is in the business of preplanned last minute answers. πŸ™‚ enjoy the adventure with your boys!

  6. 

    good luck Ness hope it all goes well for you! x

  7. 
    A Dog With Fleas November 28, 2012 at 8:14 AM

    Good luck on the move!! You have a lot on your shoulders right now, but know that everything will work out!

  8. 

    Good luck with your journey….it will be a journey. You will find a destination and make sure you keep us posted….even if you have to steal wireless from the local McDonald’s; My advice is set up shop near a Starbucks, the wireless is free!!!!

  9. 

    Not at all, but I here Super Walmart has everything!!!!

  10. 

    Good luck…

  11. 

    Vanessa, I am thinking of you and your two boys. And I wish you the very best. Unfortunately, I do not have a house to offer you. I live many thousands of miles away. Nonetheless, you are in my thoughts.

  12. 

    You are hilarious! I know everything will be okay for you. Enjoy the ride and watch what God does–be sure to let us know!

  13. 

    Remember the time you needed a new computer and……VOILA!!! A new computer arrived. Keep the faith. I’m sure everything will work out. You have big things in your future. Maybe Hollywood’s going to come knocking! : ) All the best to you.

  14. 

    Your new house has got to be fabulous due to the hard time you are having in locating it. God is good and you will get the house. Do not fear! πŸ˜€

  15. 

    I know the feeling we have to have everything out of our house by the first this Saturday. I have yet to find a place that we can get into. I have no clue what we are going to do. But I am sure something will happen and work out.

  16. 

    I love the new site look, and adorable photo! Best of luck in finding a new place!!

  17. 

    I’m sure everything will work out just fine… as long as you are Honey Boo Boo free. πŸ™‚

    But please remember… you can freeload the wifi off McDonald’s, but for the love of everything good in the universe, do not, *under any circumstances*, drink the coffee. It will be something that you will not be able to ever, ever forget. I cry softly even remembering the moment I tasted that infernal mixture of despair and hopelessness… We should make the most hated people of our society drink it as punishment.

  18. 

    I’m stunned you opted against boo boos digs. That would have provided tons of blog material! πŸ™‚

  19. 

    Best of luck on the move. It may not seem like it, but you’re almost sure to survive! Be safe and happy! πŸ™‚

  20. 

    Where is the “Gold Coast”?

  21. 

    You can do it!!! There’s some place just right for you out there. The clock ticking though could add some stress, maybe. Or that can act as a motivator. McDonald’s is open 24/7 right? Serves breakfast lunch and dinner? Maybe that weird clown Ronald will cuddle up with you and the kids to keep you warm if you don’t find those fingerless gloves at Wal-Mart. Buy cheap ones and cut the fingers off!

  22. 

    Praying for all to work out!

  23. 

    Man jobs…meh. Girl power! πŸ™‚

  24. 

    Have fun Vanessa! Glad everything worked out just fine! …..Paula x

  25. 

    Why give up like this? Why not continue trying. Efforts do elicit the desired result some day or the other.

  26. 

    Good Luck! I am moving too and I was worried about the same thing. It will work out!

  27. 

    So glad everything worked out πŸ™‚ Your writing is so enjoyable to read. You write with a strong voice, and given the nature of your circumstances, this post still made me laugh and smile over and over.

  28. 

    I know everything will work out for you…hope you enjoy your new home and more power to you!! xoxo

  29. 
    Melody J Haislip November 29, 2012 at 4:26 AM

    I like your spirit and your courage. The Universe appreciates people of spirit. I believe your attitude will draw to you what you need. πŸ™‚

  30. 

    Faith is a POWERFUL thing β™₯

  31. 

    The power of the ‘pen’ is enormous. I am moved and about as far from you as it gets. If you dug straight down, through the core and through the other side you would be rather close to wher I am right now. Assuming, of course, you have not moved THAT far :>) See, like I said, powerful.

  32. 

    I love it when people spend time feeling sorry for a good-looking white person.

  33. 

    Reblogged this on carrmacares's Blog.

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. Lemons…Lemonade « - November 28, 2012

    […] know how an hour ago I was fearing homelessness in my post HERE? Well wouldn’t you know, everything has worked out perfectly. I have decided to forget trying […]

I would love to hear from you, please feel free to comment!

