Bad news

September 11, 2012 — 79 Comments

Dearests,
It is with much sadness that I have to inform you that yesterday at approx 2.20pm, my laptop was pronounced dead.
My whole life was stored on that laptop including all the stories I was working on for this blog. My language got quite colourful when the lovely Apple store man delivered to me the news of the death of my laptop. Very colourful indeed.
Because I am a complete moron, I didn’t back anything up, which means those stories, plus all progress I had made in the three assignments I have due on Monday has gone to word heaven, not to mention thousands of photos and my new Frank Ocean album.
The most devastating of all however, is that I will not be able to write again until I can afford to purchase a new laptop. As I am a poor student living below the poverty line and no pole dancing skills whatsoever, this may take a while.
If you see someone that looks a lot like me walking the streets of the Gold Coast, drinking from a brown paper bag and begging for loose change and saying its for a new computer, give what you can and with any luck I should be back online as soon as possible. 😉
Until then, I will not be able to write for you. I am very sad about this.

Take care and I hope to be back up and running and publishing again soon.

Love Ness

79 responses to Bad news

  1. 

    Oh dear, if I am living in Australia (?), I can send you my old macbook for temporary use until you are getting rich after your study. Can you get a second hand below 100 dollars macbook on ebay? I have two backups of my photos, if they are dead, my 13 years of life would be gone, I mean starting from age 25. Take care!

  2. 

    Could you just get a new hard drive? An 80gig is like less than $60 USD (convert it to your local currency.) If you have a geeky friend, they could easily change the drive. The mentality of “let me get a new laptop” I think is overrated, at least in my opinion. Then after, get a USB hard drive (about the same price) and if you have Mac OS Snow Leopard or higher you can use the Time Machine feature which will automatically backup your home folders.

    I hope you get your technical life restored. 🙂

  3. 

    Bummer! I actually have a post coming out tonight that mentions your blog. Oh well, I wish you the best and maybe some philanthropist will see the need for the world to hear your story and donate a laptop.

  4. 

    Nightmare scenario, poor you.

  5. 

    I totally understand…Before there were computers, my second husband burned everything I had written from age 13 to 42. It was devastating…Some kind soul is bound to loan or buy you another laptop or notebook. Best wishes for a quick recovery back to your blog.

  6. 

    No!!! You’re my mascot for navigating the single life! 😦 Hope you can come back soon.

  7. 

    If you were to open a paypal account, specifically for this purpose, I’m sure a few of your followers would donate a dollar/euro/pound. 🙂

  8. 

    I just took some pics at a local cemetery too! 🙂 Love them! Love your work and nominated you for One Lovely Blog award, I totally understand if you don’t want to ‘do’ all the stuff involved. I just wanted to let you know! 🙂

  9. 

    Okay. So here’s the extent of my knowledge of computer repairs: if I turn it on and nothing happens, the damned thing is broken.
    And now, due to your computer malfunction, you are taking your place in a long line of women who have left me.

  10. 

    I agree, someone clever might be able to read something from your hard drive, so don’t ditch it. And next time of course you will use backup. You can also back up free to the cloud using docs.google.com which is what I do when I am away from home.

  11. 

    May the force be with you and send some good luck your way. I will miss you.

  12. 

    as I entered your Blogs.. your Laptop collapsed.. my ill fate…
    I feel so sorry…
    rejuvenate 🙂

  13. 

    “As I am a poor student living below the poverty line and no pole dancing skills whatsoever, this may take a while.”…………………
    I will do POLE DANCING on your behalf…. cum back soon…
    here I am wating for so long.
    you are the only ONE in this universe who owned a laptop despite being bpl(below the poverty line)
    I appreciate thou

  14. 

    This happened to me in April – so, so awful. I feel for you. You have reminded me to buy an external hard drive.

  15. 

    Good luck! Is the hard drive not salvageable?

  16. 

    Awh! this is bad news, really! Same thing happened to my laptop and being a student living below the poverty line (haha!), I couldn’t buy a replacement for the rest of my school year. Its been two years since, and I have just gotten a new job (yayy!). I will begin to save towards a nice purchase. Maybe we could both share ideas on what best laptop to buy!
    All the best!

  17. 

    I use my daughter’s laptop and the library computer. Alas, I frequently can not have access to them. I would see if there is a public access so you could do the “bare bones” of blogging and connecting with your many followers!

  18. 

    I’m glad you took the time out of your hobo lifestyle to like my stories. I’m sorry you lost all of your work. I’ve had that happen before, and the timing is always the worst. I was in finals, and just finished a paper. Best of luck with all your work!

    – Alex

  19. 

    Cornelius agrippa has a very valid, important point – SAVE the hard drive from your dead machine: unless there is major physical damage to it, you CAN recover the info from it…

  20. 

    seriously, all the replies here make me laugh, especially the one between you and Alex. You got a good sense of humour.

I would love to hear from you, please feel free to comment!